Who Owns
the Gaff?
Explore companies

Asset managers

Macquarie Asset Management

25 linked company profiles · 25 dated disclosures in this directory.

About this investor

Macquarie Asset Management (MAM) is Macquarie Group's asset management business. It reports A$722.1 billion of assets under management and more than 190 real assets and real estate portfolio companies, both as at 31 March 2026. [1][3]

This directory maps 25 selected portfolio businesses and platforms, including UK infrastructure and seven international businesses. Most investments sit in funds managed for clients, including pension funds and insurers. A fund's holding, a consortium's combined stake and Macquarie Group's own corporate ownership are different things. The cards retain the source's dates and percentage definitions. PLP's platform investment is separate from the Astley property venture. Roadchef's restaurant and coffee partnerships do not establish ownership of McDonald's, Costa, LEON or Pret worldwide. [2][4][5][6]

Each card names the entity invested in. Linked companies and brands can sit below that entity. Stakes use the source’s definition and date; disclosures are selected and do not give a complete portfolio or investor register. Read the investor methodology.

Disclosed holdings & backing

Fund investment

2degrees · MAM and Aware Super partnership

Joint investment; exact stake not disclosed

Investment partnership confirmed ·

The MAM portfolio entry identifies 2degrees. Aware Super's September 2026 announcement names the continuing investment partnership in 2degrees. No exact stake or direct UK operating business is established by these sources.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 2 sources
Fund investment

altafiber group · including Hawaiian Telcom

Fund acquisition; exact current stake not verified

Company acquisition history checked ·

Hawaiian Telcom's current history identifies its inclusion in the altafiber family acquired by MAM. Its acquisition explanation identifies Macquarie Infrastructure Partners. The exact current stake and complete holding chain are not established. Historical technology-services brand lists should not be treated as a current subsidiary register.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 2 sources
Fund investment

Beacon Hospital · MEIF7 investment

Portfolio investment; exact current stake not disclosed

Portfolio page checked ·

The current portfolio entry identifies Beacon Hospital. The 2024 transaction announcement names MEIF7 and says CEO Michael Cullen would remain a shareholder. The entry is not presented as verified 100% fund ownership, and no exact current management or fund percentage is assigned.

Evidence · 2 sources
Fund investment

Beauparc group · MEIF6 investment

Portfolio investment; exact current percentage not disclosed

Portfolio and brand pages checked ·

The 2021 acquisition announcement identifies MEIF6. The current portfolio listing confirms Beauparc's inclusion. Acquired regional businesses include AWM, JWS, LSS, Mid-UK, New Earth Solutions, Scotwaste, WSR and B&M Waste; the phased Panda rebrand means former names are retained as search aliases rather than counted as independently owned groups. B&M Waste is distinct from the B&M retail chain. The exact current fund stake is not verified.

Evidence · 4 sources
Fund investment

BINGO Industries

Fund and co-investor acquisition; exact current stake not verified

Portfolio snapshot ·

The company confirms its 2021 acquisition by a Macquarie-managed investment group. MAM's dated March 2026 portfolio snapshot includes BINGO. No completed subsequent disposal was verified in this review; the snapshot is not a guarantee against later transactions. The exact current stake is not established.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 2 sources
Fund investment

Birmingham Airport · MEIF7 and co-investor investment

26.5% · acquired fund/co-investor interest

Financial close announced ·

The 26.5% is the combined interest acquired by MEIF7 and co-investors, including LGPS Central. The source does not split the holding between the fund and its co-investors, and it is not a verified individual Macquarie Group corporate percentage. Other airport shareholders remain outside this selected disclosure.

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

Bristol Airport · MEIF7 and co-investor investment

55% · acquired fund/co-investor interest

Financial close announced ·

The 55% is the combined interest acquired by MEIF7 and co-investors, including LGPS Central. The source does not split the holding between the fund and its co-investors, and it is not a verified individual Macquarie Group corporate percentage. Other airport shareholders remain outside this selected disclosure.

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

Cadent Gas · Quadgas consortium

Consortium investment; individual stake not verified

Continuing investment confirmed ·

Cadent's group structure identifies Macquarie among the Quadgas consortium investors. The original 61% purchase and subsequent acquisition of National Grid's remaining 39% are consortium transactions, not individual Macquarie percentages. MAM's February 2026 announcement confirms its continuing Cadent investment; a current exact fund stake is not verified.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 2 sources
Disclosed backing

Cero Generation

Portfolio investment; exact stake not disclosed

Company portfolio disclosure checked ·

Cero identifies MAM portfolio-company status. The source does not establish an exact equity percentage or the investment vehicle. Portfolio inclusion is not presented as proof of 100% direct Macquarie corporate ownership.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

Eku Energy

Joint fund investment; exact split not disclosed

Company ownership page checked ·

Eku identifies a MAM-managed fund and BCI as joint owners. Its company page does not specify their percentage split or a complete investing-vehicle chain.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

Farnborough Airport · MEIF6 investment

Fund-controlled; exact economic interest not established

Holdco voting-share register ·

The acquisition completed on 27 September 2019; Macquarie announced it on 30 September. The 2025 accounts name Luxembourg-incorporated MEIF6 SCSp as the ultimate controlling parent. The Holdco register at 24 July 2026 shows MEIF 6 Parker Investments SARL holding all voting A shares. Non-voting B, C and preference shares linked to the management incentive plan are registered to Zedra Trust Company (Guernsey) Limited, with different distribution rights. The report's description of 100% fund ownership is not treated as a complete economic percentage across these classes. MAM manages the investment; this is not a direct Macquarie Group corporate stake.

Evidence · 16 sources
Disclosed backing

Fleete

Macquarie backing; exact stake not verified

Business disclosures checked ·

MAM's Parliamentary evidence describes launching Fleete through its Green Investments business. Fleete's current website confirms Macquarie backing. The present equity percentage and investment-vehicle chain have not been verified.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 2 sources
Disclosed backing

Goodstone Living platform

Portfolio investment; exact stake not disclosed

Portfolio page checked ·

MAM lists Goodstone as a UK rental housing platform. The portfolio entry does not establish an exact stake in the platform or ownership of every individual property vehicle.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

Island Green Power · UK business

100% · acquired UK business

Additional stake acquired ·

Managed funds acquired the remaining 50%, increasing their UK holding to 100%. The founders retained full ownership of the international business. The percentage applies to the acquired UK business and must not be extended to every international Island Green Power operation.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

KCOM Group · MEIF6 investment

Fund acquisition; exact current percentage not verified

Acquisition completed ·

MEIF6 completed the acquisition and KCOM was delisted. KCOM's current board page identifies its chair with MAM's European infrastructure portfolio. The exact present legal holding chain and fund percentage have not been independently reconciled.

Evidence · 2 sources
Fund investment

Last Mile Infrastructure Group

100% · MAM-managed funds

Full ownership confirmed ·

MAM's February agreement described increasing managed funds' interest from 50% to 100%; Last Mile confirmed completion on 13 May. Energetics and UKPS adopted Last Mile branding in 2026; Icosa Water was integrated into the Last Mile brands in 2025. Last Mile Asset Management, Heat and Water remain customer-facing names within the group, not separate additional fund investments.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 3 sources
Fund investment

London City Airport · MEIF7 investment

75% · MEIF7 interest

Financial close at signing ·

The additional 50% purchase took MEIF7's aggregate holding to 75%, following the earlier 25% acquisition. Financial close occurred at signing. Wren House remained a shareholder; the announcement does not give its separate exact percentage. The fund invests on behalf of institutional investors, rather than this being a direct corporate Macquarie Group holding.

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

National Gas group · Luppiter Consortium

60.09% · MAM interest reported by the company

Company ownership snapshot ·

National Gas's ownership table is dated end-September 2024: MAM 60.09%, BCI 27.71% and Australian Retirement Trust 12.20%. The consortium's full ownership is not a 100% MAM holding. MAM is the investment manager; the complete fund-vehicle chain is not established here. The group includes Transmission, Metering, Services and Premtech, acquired in 2024.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Equity ownership

PLP platform

Stake not disclosed

Ownership disclosure checked ·

PLP names parallel platform owners without exact percentages. This platform disclosure is separate from investments in UKLV2 or individual warehouses. The indexed ownership statement and live business page differ in wording; a current complete shareholder register has not been established.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

Qube Holdings · MAM-led consortium

Consortium acquisition; individual stake not disclosed

Acquisition completed ·

Qube's 17 August announcement confirms completion on 14 August by MAM, its managed funds and co-investors including UniSuper and Pontegadea. This identifies consortium involvement, not a verified individual percentage for MAM or its partners.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

Renewi · MEIF7 and BCI consortium

Consortium acquisition; individual stake not disclosed

Acquisition completed ·

The completed acquisition identifies MEIF7 and BCI together. It does not give each consortium member's percentage. The business operates mainly in continental Europe; UK operations and UK cash corporation tax are not established by this ownership disclosure.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Fund investment

Roadchef business · MEIF6 investment

Fund ownership; exact percentage not disclosed

Ownership page checked ·

Roadchef identifies MEIF6, through its Luxembourg platform, as its owner. MAM manages the fund; this is not a direct Macquarie Group corporate stake. McDonald's, Costa Coffee and LEON are brand partners. Pret outlets operate through a franchise partnership; these arrangements do not establish ownership of the worldwide brands.

Evidence · 3 sources
Fund investment

Southern Water · MAM-led investment

Majority investment in 2021; exact current stake not verified

Investment disclosures checked ·

The 2021 majority investment and the June 2026 funding announcement have different dates. Asterion announced an approximately 20% minority investment alongside MAM-managed funds, subject to regulatory approvals. Completion and the resulting exact MAM-managed stake have not been established; the proposed percentage is not recorded as a completed holding.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 2 sources
Fund investment

VIRTUS Data Centres · MEIF7 investment

40% · disclosed MEIF7 stake

Transaction completed ·

VIRTUS's January 2023 announcement gives a 40% MEIF7 stake and completion on 22 December 2022. Macquarie's current case study confirms the continuing strategic partnership with ST Telemedia Global Data Centres. The original percentage retains its transaction date; a later complete cap table has not been reconciled.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 2 sources
Fund investment

Vocus · MAM and Aware Super investment

Collective majority with Aware Super; individual stake not disclosed

Company ownership page checked ·

Vocus describes MAM and Aware Super as its majority owners together. This does not establish that either investor individually has a majority. The source does not disclose the exact split, and ownership of every historical Vocus retail brand is outside this review.

Ownership & related brands

Evidence · 1 source
Former holdings & portfolio changes
  • Thames Water

    Macquarie-managed funds sold their remaining stake in 2017. It is a former investment. [7]

  • Moto

    Macquarie's disclosed investment period was 2006–2015. Roadchef is the current motorway-services investment covered here. [4]

  • AGS Airports

    Aberdeen, Glasgow and Southampton airports were sold to AviAlliance; completion was announced on 28 January 2025. [8]

  • AirTrunk

    A Blackstone-led consortium with CPP Investments completed its acquisition in December 2024. [9]

  • Aligned Data Centers

    The sale completed on 21 July 2026. This supersedes its inclusion in MAM's March 2026 portfolio snapshot. [10][2]

  • Arqiva

    Its current shareholder page lists D9, Polus-managed funds and Spirit Super. Macquarie no longer appears among the disclosed shareholders; the disposal completion date is not established here. [11]

  • Exolum

    Its current shareholder table attributes the MEIF 5 Rey Holdings interest to KKR. A vehicle retaining a Macquarie fund name does not establish continuing Macquarie beneficial ownership. [12]

  • Corio Generation

    Corio stopped operating as a standalone business on 1 April 2026. Macquarie continues to manage some former projects. [13]

  • North American and European public investments

    MAM completed the sale of this business to Nomura on 1 December 2025. The sale did not include the entire Macquarie Asset Management business. [3]

  • Macquarie Capital investments

    PTSG, Wavenet, Zenzero, Metcor and Stark are identified in Macquarie Capital's portfolio. Macquarie Capital is a separate operating business; those records are not automatically MAM investments. [14]

About & portfolio changes: sources · 14

Research reviewed . Sources for individual investments are included on their disclosure cards.

  1. 01
    Macquarie Asset Management: business and dated scale (opens in a new tab)

    Macquarie Group · AUM and combined real assets/real estate portfolio company count at 31 March 2026

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  2. 02
    MAM portfolio and investment scope (opens in a new tab)

    Macquarie Asset Management · 31 March 2026 snapshot; varying direct stakes managed on behalf of investors

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  3. 03
    Completed sale of public investments business to Nomura (opens in a new tab)

    Macquarie Group · 1 December 2025: MAM identified as Macquarie Group division; North American and European public investments sale completed

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  4. 04
    Roadchef acquisition and investment scope (opens in a new tab)

    Macquarie Group · MEIF6 investment; brand partnerships; former Moto ownership 2006–2015

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  5. 05
    Pret and Roadchef franchise partnership (opens in a new tab)

    Roadchef · 28 November 2025: Roadchef described as Pret franchise partner

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  6. 06
    PLP venture and Astley investment scope (opens in a new tab)

    PLP · 7 January 2025: Astley development on behalf of separate UKLV2 venture; PLP platform interest is not a verified direct property stake

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  7. 07
    Thames Water investment and exit (opens in a new tab)

    Macquarie Group · Remaining 26.3% fund interest divested in 2017

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  8. 08
    AviAlliance completes AGS Airports acquisition (opens in a new tab)

    Glasgow Airport / AviAlliance · 28 January 2025: Aberdeen, Glasgow and Southampton acquired from Macquarie and Ferrovial

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  9. 09
    AirTrunk acquisition completed (opens in a new tab)

    AirTrunk · 23 December 2024 announcement: Blackstone-led consortium and CPP Investments completed acquisition

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  10. 10
    Aligned Data Centers sale completed (opens in a new tab)

    Macquarie Group · 21 July 2026: sale completed to AI Infrastructure Partnership, MGX and BlackRock's Global Infrastructure Partners

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  11. 11
    Arqiva current shareholders (opens in a new tab)

    Arqiva · Current table names D9, Polus-managed funds and Spirit Super; no Macquarie shareholder

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  12. 12
    Exolum current shareholder distribution (opens in a new tab)

    Exolum · MEIF 5 Rey Holdings interest attributed to KKR in current table

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  13. 13
    Corio business status (opens in a new tab)

    Corio Generation · No standalone business from 1 April 2026; Macquarie continues managing certain former projects

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026
  14. 14
    Macquarie Capital investment portfolio (opens in a new tab)

    Macquarie Group · Macquarie Capital portfolio includes Metcor, PTSG, Wavenet, Zenzero and Stark

    Accessed 9 Oct 2026