Glencore produces and trades metals, minerals, coal and energy products. The publicly listed group is headquartered in Switzerland, with UK trading businesses and the Britannia Refined Metals refinery. [1][2][4]
01 / Behind the name
Who owns Glencore?
Public · listed on the London and Johannesburg stock exchanges; no single controlling parent established [1]
The annual report's substantial-holder table is a voting-rights snapshot at 30 January 2026, led by Ivan Glasenberg at 10.39% and Qatar Holding LLC at 8.92%. Asset managers report interests for funds and clients; their percentages do not establish sole ownership. Capital Group's later February notification is shown separately below. Selected subsidiaries and the minority Bunge investment can be explored through Glencore's investor profile. Xstrata merged with Glencore in 2013; its name is retained as a historical search alias. [1][5][6]
Headquarters, incorporation and tax residence describe different things. A headquarters address does not tell you where all of a company’s tax is paid.
Follow the investment
Investors in Glencore
Investor disclosures found
Selected investor disclosures have been found. Each names the held entity, basis and date; the complete investor register remains outside this review. Individual and family investor entries are currently hidden. A stake in a parent or operating company is shown against that entity. Dates refer to each disclosure and can differ from the profile review date. Evidence links are included with each record.
Selected major interests from the annual report's table, based on information available on 30 January 2026. These reported voting-right percentages use the outstanding-share count at the relevant notifications and do not reflect subsequent denominator changes. Managers can report client and fund interests; this is not a complete October shareholder register. Qatar Holding LLC is the exact holder named in this report, linked to the existing Qatar Holdings identity without duplicating its block under QIA.
Glencore plc · Published 10 March 2026; printed p121: voting-right snapshot at 30 January 2026; p149: Swiss tax residence; pp228–230: FY2025 subsidiary interests and investments; p245: incorporation and headquarters
Selected major interests from the annual report's table, based on information available on 30 January 2026. These reported voting-right percentages use the outstanding-share count at the relevant notifications and do not reflect subsequent denominator changes. Managers can report client and fund interests; this is not a complete October shareholder register. Qatar Holding LLC is the exact holder named in this report, linked to the existing Qatar Holdings identity without duplicating its block under QIA. A later BlackRock Form 8.3 reports owned/controlled securities and investment discretion with different voting authority. Its total including derivatives is not substituted for this dated voting-right figure.
Glencore plc · Published 10 March 2026; printed p121: voting-right snapshot at 30 January 2026; p149: Swiss tax residence; pp228–230: FY2025 subsidiary interests and investments; p245: incorporation and headquarters
Selected major interests from the annual report's table, based on information available on 30 January 2026. These reported voting-right percentages use the outstanding-share count at the relevant notifications and do not reflect subsequent denominator changes. Managers can report client and fund interests; this is not a complete October shareholder register. Qatar Holding LLC is the exact holder named in this report, linked to the existing Qatar Holdings identity without duplicating its block under QIA.
Glencore plc · Published 10 March 2026; printed p121: voting-right snapshot at 30 January 2026; p149: Swiss tax residence; pp228–230: FY2025 subsidiary interests and investments; p245: incorporation and headquarters
Capital Group's TR-1 published 27 February 2026 supersedes its 5.31% January snapshot. It reports 586,897,408 indirect share voting rights (common shares and depository receipts), no financial-instrument votes, and discretionary managed accounts rather than shares for the manager's own account. This is a dated notification, not a fresh October cap table.
Glencore / Capital Group · RNS reproduced by Investegate · 27 February 2026 TR-1; position 25 February: 5.001105% voting rights attached to shares, held through discretionary managed accounts; sections 7–8A and 11
Shares valued at £144,622,624 · percentage not disclosed
Securities holdings snapshot ·
Historical GBP market value of shares, not the number of shares, acquisition cost or current valuation. The list includes holdings through L&G pooled securities vehicles and does not identify the direct-versus-pooled route for every entry. The ownership percentage and voting rights are not disclosed here. This selected portfolio investment does not establish control of the company or direct ownership of its brands.
GMPF · GBP market values, including holdings of L&G pooled securities vehicles; PDF pp6 Coca-Cola/CCEP, 10 Glencore, 19 Shell, 23 Unilever; AB InBev entries on p2 are bonds
A UK cash corporation-tax total has not been verified. The 2025 payments report aggregates several types of government payments worldwide and supplies no separate UK total. The half-year report's contested HMRC assessments are not tax paid.
United KingdomYear ended 31 December 2025
UK corporation tax paid
Not yet verifiedCash payment
Glencore group · UK cash scope not separately reconciled Period ending 31 Dec 2025
Neither worldwide government payments nor worldwide income-tax cash establish the UK amount. Not verified does not mean no tax was paid. [3][2]
These figures have different scopes. They should not be added together or used as a like-for-like tax ranking.
Glencore plc · Published 10 March 2026; printed p121: voting-right snapshot at 30 January 2026; p149: Swiss tax residence; pp228–230: FY2025 subsidiary interests and investments; p245: incorporation and headquarters
Glencore plc · Published 5 August 2026; continuing industrial and marketing businesses; p30: worldwide cash income tax; note 8 p43: contested UK assessments; note 23 p57: completed Viterra and Pasar disposals
Glencore / Capital Group · RNS reproduced by Investegate · 27 February 2026 TR-1; position 25 February: 5.001105% voting rights attached to shares, held through discretionary managed accounts; sections 7–8A and 11