Who Owns
the Gaff?
Explore companies

Retail

Marks & Spencer

Profile reviewed

M&S brings together food, clothing and home retail under Marks and Spencer Group plc, a London-based listed parent company. [1][3]

01 / Behind the name

Who owns Marks & Spencer?

Publicly listed · London Stock Exchange [4]

  1. 01
    Operating company

    Marks and Spencer plc [1]

    As reported · 28 Mar 2026
  2. 02
    Ultimate parent

    Marks and Spencer Group plc [1]

    As reported · 28 Mar 2026
  3. 03
    Shares traded on the London Stock Exchange

    Public shareholders [4]

    As reported · 26 Sept 2026

The listed holding company and the operating company have similar names. The group accounts consolidate several businesses, so a group tax number does not describe the UK shops alone. [1]

02 / On the map

Where is it based?

Ultimate parent
Marks and Spencer Group plc [1]
Group headquarters
London, United Kingdom [3]
Parent incorporated in
England and Wales [3]

Headquarters, incorporation and tax residence describe different things. A headquarters address does not tell you where all of a company’s tax is paid.

03 / The figures, with context

What does it report in UK tax?

The 2025/26 results report group-wide income tax paid. The March 2026 tax strategy discusses a wider UK contribution, but does not isolate a UK corporation-tax cash payment.

United Kingdom2025/26

UK corporation tax paid

Not separately disclosedCash payment

M&S group · UK
Period ending 28 Mar 2026

A UK-only corporation-tax cash figure is not separately disclosed in the results and tax-strategy documents reviewed. A total contribution includes other kinds of tax. [1][2]

Consolidated group2025/26

Group income tax paid

£7.1mCash payment

Marks and Spencer Group plc · consolidated
Period ending 28 Mar 2026

Consolidated worldwide income-tax cash outflow. It is not identified as UK-only. Consolidated statement of cash flows, PDF page 31. [1]

These figures have different scopes. They should not be added together or used as a like-for-like tax ranking.

Understand the measures

04 / Check our working

The public record.

Primary sources used in this profile. Company disclosures are attributed to the company; inclusion is not an independent audit.

  1. 01
    Full-year results for the year ended 28 March 2026 (opens in a new tab)

    Marks & Spencer · Consolidated statement of cash flows p.31; group financial statements

    Accessed 26 Sept 2026
  2. 02
    How we manage our taxes · March 2026 (opens in a new tab)

    Marks & Spencer · UK contribution and scope of tax strategy

    Accessed 26 Sept 2026
  3. 03
    Headquarters and company registration (opens in a new tab)

    Marks & Spencer · Headquarters; registered office; place of registration

    Accessed 26 Sept 2026
  4. 04
    Investor information (opens in a new tab)

    Marks & Spencer · Shareholder and share-price information

    Accessed 26 Sept 2026