Who Owns
the Gaff?
Explore companies

Retail

Littlewoods

Profile reviewed

Littlewoods: The Very Group is the retail group identified in the reviewed disclosures. [1]

01 / Behind the name

Who owns Littlewoods?

Private · Carlyle ownership [1]

  1. 01
    Retail group

    The Very Group [1]

    As reported · 27 Sept 2026

The November 2025 completed transaction made Carlyle the owner of The Very Group, which operates Very and Littlewoods. IMI continued as a key stakeholder. This does not establish each investment vehicle or an exact shareholding for IMI; the former Barclay ownership is not presented as current. [1]

Explore The Very Group

Owner & brand overview

Other profiles in this owner group

02 / On the map

Where is it based?

Retail group
The Very Group [1]
Group headquarters
Not yet verified [1]
Parent incorporated in
Not yet verified [1]

Headquarters, incorporation and tax residence describe different things. A headquarters address does not tell you where all of a company’s tax is paid.

Follow the investment

Investors in Littlewoods

Investor disclosures found

Selected investor disclosures have been found. Each names the held entity, basis and date; the complete investor register remains outside this review. A stake in a parent or operating company is shown against that entity. Dates refer to each disclosure and can differ from the profile review date. Evidence links are included with each record.

Fund investment

Carlyle

Held entity · The Very Group

Stake not disclosed

Transaction completed ·

The completed transaction identifies Carlyle as owner and IMI as a continuing stakeholder. It does not give exact vehicle stakes or establish whether IMI's interest is equity or credit.

Evidence · 1 source
Disclosed backing

IMI

Held entity · The Very Group

Interest not specified

Transaction completed ·

The completed transaction identifies Carlyle as owner and IMI as a continuing stakeholder. It does not give exact vehicle stakes or establish whether IMI's interest is equity or credit. Continuing stakeholder; an equity holding has not been established.

Evidence · 1 source

Explore investor coverage

03 / The figures, with context

What does it report in UK tax?

The Very Group's filed 2024/25 accounts report £1.0m income taxes paid across the consolidated group. The group includes an Irish retail subsidiary, and the accounts do not split the cash amount between the UK, Ireland, Very and Littlewoods. This period predates the November 2025 ownership change.

United Kingdom52 weeks ended 28 June 2025

UK corporation tax paid

Not separately disclosedCash payment

Littlewoods · UK entity scope not yet verified
Period ending 28 Jun 2025

The reviewed consolidated accounts report a wider group cash tax amount but do not separately identify the UK cash corporation-tax amount for this retailer. [2][3]

Consolidated group52 weeks ended 28 June 2025

Group income taxes paid

£1mCash payment

The Very Group Limited consolidated group
Period ending 28 Jun 2025

The group cash-flow statement reports £1.0m income taxes paid. Its subsidiaries include Shop Direct Ireland Limited, so the amount cannot be attributed solely to UK corporation tax or to either retail banner. Both profiles show the same group payment; do not add them together. [2][3]

These figures have different scopes. They should not be added together or used as a like-for-like tax ranking.

Understand the measures

04 / Check our working

The public record.

Primary sources used in this profile. Company disclosures are attributed to the company; inclusion is not an independent audit.

  1. 01
    Completed ownership transaction, 10 November 2025 (opens in a new tab)

    theverygroup.com · Corporate identity, ownership and location disclosure; see the profile for the scope and remaining gaps

    Accessed 27 Sept 2026
  2. 02
    The Very Group Limited accounts for the 52 weeks ended 28 June 2025 (opens in a new tab)

    Companies House · Consolidated cash-flow statement, PDF p.65 (printed p.64)

    Accessed 28 Sept 2026
  3. 03
    The Very Group annual report 2024/25 (opens in a new tab)

    The Very Group · Income taxes paid, PDF p.65 (printed p.64); Irish retail subsidiary, PDF p.94

    Accessed 28 Sept 2026