Who Owns
the Gaff?
Explore companies

Supermarkets

Co-op

Profile reviewed

This profile covers The Co-operative Group, whose businesses include food retail, funeralcare and legal services. It is owned by its members and based in Manchester. [1]

01 / Behind the name

Who owns Co-op?

Member-owned · co-operative society [1]

  1. 01
    Registered co-operative society

    Co-operative Group Limited [1]

    As reported · 3 Jan 2026
  2. 02
    Member owners of the society

    Co-op members [1]

    As reported · 3 Jan 2026

This record covers The Co-operative Group. It does not treat independent regional co-operative societies as subsidiaries of the Group. Member ownership is different from a stock-exchange shareholding. [1]

Explore Co-operative Group Limited

Owner & brand overview

02 / On the map

Where is it based?

Group headquarters
Manchester, United Kingdom [1]
Parent incorporated in
England and Wales · registered co-operative society 525R [1]

Headquarters, incorporation and tax residence describe different things. A headquarters address does not tell you where all of a company’s tax is paid.

Follow the investment

Investors in Co-op

Collective or public ownership

The existing sourced profile describes member-owned · co-operative society. A conventional external shareholder list has not been established. A stake in a parent or operating company is shown against that entity. Dates refer to each disclosure and can differ from the profile review date. Evidence links are included with each record.

Explore investor coverage

03 / The figures, with context

What does it report in UK tax?

The report explains a nil UK current tax charge after using brought-forward tax attributes. A separate UK cash-payment amount is not disclosed in the reviewed statements. Its 2025 reporting year ended on 3 January 2026.

United Kingdom2025

UK corporation tax paid

Not separately disclosedCash payment

Co-operative Group · UK
Period ending 3 Jan 2026

The reviewed cash-flow statement and taxation note do not isolate UK corporation-tax cash payments. The statement that the group is not tax-paying in respect of 2025 concerns that year’s tax position, rather than identifying all cash payments or refunds during the period. [1]

United Kingdom2025

UK current tax charge

£0Accounting charge · not cash paid

Co-operative Group · UK current-year tax position
Period ending 3 Jan 2026

Note 8 says brought-forward capital allowances and losses offset UK taxable profits and the current tax charge nets to nil. This is an accounting disclosure, not a verified £0 cash payment. The Isle of Man subsidiary’s tax liability is discussed separately. [1]

These figures have different scopes. They should not be added together or used as a like-for-like tax ranking.

Understand the measures

04 / Check our working

The public record.

Primary sources used in this profile. Company disclosures are attributed to the company; inclusion is not an independent audit.

  1. 01
    Our Members’ Annual Report 2025 (opens in a new tab)

    The Co-operative Group · Member ownership; cash flow p.134; taxation note 8 pp.143–144; general information p.197: society 525R and Manchester office

    Accessed 27 Sept 2026