Who Owns
the Gaff?
Explore companies

Retail

Boots

Profile reviewed

Boots: The Boots Group is the brand group identified in the reviewed disclosures. [1][2][3]

01 / Behind the name

Who owns Boots?

Private · Sycamore-led investor group [1][2][3]

  1. 01
    Brand group

    The Boots Group [1][2][3]

    As reported · 27 Sept 2026

Boots became part of a private standalone Boots Group after the acquisition completed in August 2025. Investors include Sycamore-managed funds, the Pessina family and other investors. The former publicly listed Walgreens Boots Alliance structure is not shown as current. [1][2][3]

Explore The Boots Group

Owner & brand overview

02 / On the map

Where is it based?

Group headquarters
London, United Kingdom [1][2][3]
Parent incorporated in
Not yet verified [1][2][3]

Headquarters, incorporation and tax residence describe different things. A headquarters address does not tell you where all of a company’s tax is paid.

Follow the investment

Investors in Boots

Investor disclosures found

Selected investor disclosures have been found. Each names the held entity, basis and date; the complete investor register remains outside this review. Individual and family investor entries are currently hidden. A stake in a parent or operating company is shown against that entity. Dates refer to each disclosure and can differ from the profile review date. Evidence links are included with each record.

Fund investment

Sycamore-managed funds

Held entity · The Boots Group

Stake not disclosed

Transaction completed ·

Selected investors in the private standalone group. The family's full reinvestment of its previous interests does not mean 100% ownership. Exact stakes and other investors are not disclosed.

Evidence · 1 source

Explore investor coverage

03 / The figures, with context

What does it report in UK tax?

Boots UK Limited's filed 2025 accounts omit a cash-flow statement under an FRS 101 exemption. A UK cash corporation-tax payment is not separately disclosed there.

United KingdomYear ended 31 August 2025

UK corporation tax paid

Not separately disclosedCash payment

Boots UK Limited
Period ending 31 Aug 2025

Boots UK Limited uses an FRS 101 exemption from presenting a cash-flow statement. Its tax charge and deferred-tax balances are accounting amounts, not cash paid. [4]

These figures have different scopes. They should not be added together or used as a like-for-like tax ranking.

Understand the measures

04 / Check our working

The public record.

Primary sources used in this profile. Company disclosures are attributed to the company; inclusion is not an independent audit.

  1. 01
    Boots Group: London headquarters (opens in a new tab)

    thebootsgroup.co.uk · Corporate identity, ownership and location disclosure; see the profile for the scope and remaining gaps

    Accessed 27 Sept 2026
  2. 02
    Private standalone group following the completed acquisition (opens in a new tab)

    thebootsgroup.co.uk · Corporate identity, ownership and location disclosure; see the profile for the scope and remaining gaps

    Accessed 27 Sept 2026
  3. 03
    Financial information: private reporting (opens in a new tab)

    thebootsgroup.co.uk · Corporate identity, ownership and location disclosure; see the profile for the scope and remaining gaps

    Accessed 27 Sept 2026
  4. 04
    Boots UK Limited accounts for the year ended 31 August 2025 (opens in a new tab)

    Companies House · FRS 101 cash-flow statement exemption, PDF p.30

    Accessed 28 Sept 2026